mohead

Progressive Media, Music, Art and Events Blog Near near Salem, Oregon

Salem, Oregon’s most Famous Person: Silverton & Lancaster

with 3 comments

Rock'in Out at Lancaster & Silverton Road is Tommylyn Waller. Tommylyn is one of Salem's most recognizable faces.

Rockin' 0ut at Lancaster & Silverton Road is Tommylyn Waller. Tommylyn is one of Salem's most recognizable faces.

In Salem, Oregon you may not know the Governor, the mayor, or your local school principle. But chances are good you recognize Tommylyn Waller.

Tommylyn is paid to dance and rock out on the corner of Lancaster and Silverton Road four days a week, “rain or snow, sleet or shine.”  The sign she sways back and forth is to promote the store, “SHOES RIGHT HERE,”  a local self service shoe discounter.

Tommylyn says “some people call me the Dancing Lady, the Shoe Lady or the Singing Lady. I just love my job. Often they drivers express concern that I may be cold, but I assure them that I”m fine.”

Tommylyn, at 56 says “I’m feel so blessed at my age that I have the health to do my job.”

tommylyn3Last week Tommylyn lost her only source of transportation, a bicycle, to a traffic accident. She was immediately recognized by the staff at Salem Hospital. “I’m can’t afford to buy a bike yet, so I”m saving for one. I am just so happy to listen to Christian music all day long and praise god for it.”

She shared with me she really likes her employer, and that everybody does. S he also mentioned she gets better value for her employer than any static billboard.

minimohead

Tommylyn is a long time resident of Salem, Oregon since the age of nine. She has a son, 36 and a daughter in Texas age 37.

Written by gettheconcept

March 28, 2009 at 9:03 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whoohoo!! That’s me!

    Tommylyn Waller

    March 29, 2009 at 3:34 am

  2. It was good to meet you Tommylyn. You always make me smile when I drive by.

    gettheconcept

    March 29, 2009 at 5:44 am

  3. This is SO great! We drive by her all the time and wonder what her story is! She always looks like she is having so much fun and she always brings a smile to our faces! We’ve always wondered what she was listening to! Thanks so much for interviewing her!

    KidFriendlySalem

    April 5, 2009 at 4:21 am


Leave a Reply

