mohead

Progressive Media, Music, Art and Events Blog Near near Salem, Oregon

No better friend than a book.

with one comment

 "Never read a book that is not a year old." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

"Never read a book that is not a year old." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

There are fewer things I enjoy more than reading books. They are friends, unlike a movie, a DVD or a digital disc. As time goes buy, maybe this concept will be lost.

There is no better time on the road better spent than in a used book store. Time goes by faster, and the people you meet are much more interesting than you would meet than in a bar or online.  For me, its the best place to be when I feel lonely, or bored. There’s always something waiting.

“When I get a little money, I buy books; and if any is left, I buy food and clothes.” ~ Erasmus

On the flipside, I do enjoy reading blogs, but everything that is contemporary is not necessarily good, well written or relevant.  With blog searches I can find good relevancy, but often not in depth content you will find in a manuscript.   Besides that there is something very gleeful about possession of a book . It’s like having a friend that you know will never leave.

Often, I have to remind my family there is really no better gift for me than a gift certificate from a bookstore. Having one gets to me writhe in excitement at the choices before me.  But than again, you could have purchased me a plasma screen television set.  How exciting. NOT!  Think about how many used books you could buy for the same price?

My favorite Bookstore is Beer’s Books in Sacramento.  At Beer’s they often put dust covers on even their used hardbacks, which is a terrific added value for retaining its value. Their selection is great, (I like their WWII section especially) and the store is such a pleasant size, you can get from area to area quickly to make a selection.

On the other hand, if you have hours or days to spend it’s hard to match Powell’s Books. Fair warning thought; Never visit there if you have only two hours to spend.  To me that would be quite painful.

angels

Written by gettheconcept

February 18, 2009 at 4:43 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great article! I really share your opinion about the pleasures of book reading.

    annie

    February 21, 2009 at 5:15 am


Leave a Reply

