mohead

Progressive Media, Music, Art and Events Blog Near near Salem, Oregon

My First Night Date with CPAP.

with 2 comments

Day One: I am less skeptical today about the CPAP phenomenon.

My study was pretty conclusive about the correlation between my sleep apnea hand my heart condition. My technician, (is that what you call them?) at Second Wind showed me how to use “the device.”  Most importantly though was his revelation of my second CPAP sleep study.

My graphs showed that inevitably I had a heart palpatation or arrhythmia with every significant apnea. Without question my heart and my body have struggling to procure oxygen every night for a very long time. That will now change.

 
 I can take heart (pun intended) now that a major issue is being resolved. The technician explained to me this is why insurance companies are gun-ho on providing CPAP machines; they prevent so many very expensive diseases they are worth the investment.

There are some things that I cannot deny about my first sleep night with my CPAP

  • I slept for 9 hours for the first time any many months without medication
  • I felt a little less dizzy in the morning.
  • I didn’t get up 5 times in the middle of the night.

Sleeping on my belly however is a thing of the past, which is no big issue, but a joy I will miss.

– – –
Directly Related: CPAP on 2nd Day

Written by gettheconcept

October 25, 2008 at 8:50 pm

Posted in Cpap

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Follow Up Blog: My First Night Date with CPAP […]

  2. Casey,

    Good blog. I wonder if you and your colleagues on the blogriculture site would be interested in writing (on/for) Examiner.com?

    We are building a local knowledge network in Portland (area) and looking for people who want to share their expertise.

    I am going to leave a link where interested writers can log in and leave a few words about themselves:

    http://www.examiner.com/assets/joinexaminer.html?cid=recruiting-individual-site-portland-ljv

    Any questions, let me know
    Laura Vecsey
    Regional Content Director
    Examiner.com

    lvecsey@examiner.com

    THANKS!
    good stuff on your site here and the other(s) too

    landcrazed

    November 6, 2008 at 8:11 pm


Leave a Reply

